Welcome to Vhembe District


Vhembe is situated in the Northern part of Limpopo Province, sharing borders with Zimbabwe in the north, Mozambique through Kruger National Park in the east and Botswana in the north west.

Vhembe District Municipality with its head quarters in Thohoyandou was established in 2000 through the process of transformation of Local Government. It was established in terms of Municipal Structures Act 117 of 1998 as a demarcated sphere of governance. It is composed of four local municipalities, namely; Makhado, Musina,Thulamela and Collins Chabane. It covers 21 407 km2 and has population of over 1.1 million living in 274 480 households.

  • 8 hospitals situated all across the district
  • Vhembe is a Venda name for what is also known as the Limpopo River.

Nenguda Dowelani

District Executive Mayor